TALAVERA COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION (TCA) SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

Held November 28, 2007, 6:48pm-8:35pm, At the Talavera Substation of Las Alturas Fire Station

Meeting facilitated by: TCA Membership Next Regular Meeting: February 2007

Type of Meeting: Selection of ETZ Steering Committee

I. Greetings and welcome: Larry Cottingham, TCA President. Larry welcomed the small gathering of neighbors. He handed out the list of nominees and introduced Steve Meadows, the ETZ planner.

II. ETZ Committee Questions and Concerns Steve Meadows, ETZ planner, and Luis Marmolejo, Senior planner. Many questions and concerns were posed to Mr. Meadows and Mr. Marmolejo. The planners assured residents that the city is required by law to create the ETZ Steering Committee from the community affected. The task of the Steering Committee is to talk to property owners and compile information to make zoning recommendations to the city. Their recommendations must reflect the community wishes and have community support. Meetings are open to all residents.

Dave Williams requested his objection to the whole process be noted on the record. He would like to pursue obtaining a restraining order to prevent this committee from operating. Mr. Marmolejo stated Mr. Williams' challenge must be taken to a higher level.

Fourteen residents were nominated. Each person was given the opportunity to speak about their interests and the experience they would bring to the committee. The motion was moved and passed that the committee would be composed of seven (7) members. All present were allowed to vote for seven (7) nominees. The votes were tallied and announced at the end of the meeting.

III The Election Results.

When all votes were counted there were six (6) clear winners with two nominees tied for the seventh position. The remaining attendees moved and passed that the committee size be increased to nine (9) members. The nine (9) people elected to the ETZ Steering Committee, in alphabetical order, are:

1. Jerry Banning, 19 Cuates Canyon Rd. Jerry wants to help create fair and equitable zoning for

the newly created ETZ area. He has worked with state agencies and has dealt with many controversial issues. He supervised many staff members. He believes in the Sunshine Law – open meetings that all may attend.

- **2. Dan Delany** Represents 25 customers that live inside Z Ranch. He has been a broker for 15 years, has served on many commissions and boards for the county, and dealt with ETZ and zoning.
- 3. William Evrage, 5053 Heno Mine Trail. William is a native New Mexican and lived in Las Cruces since 1996. His interest is to keep people from subdividing large tracts into 1-acre lots. He offers a voice of reason, negotiating skills, ability to speak to groups, leadership abilities and analytical decision-making capabilities. He is concerned about the flood zone and runoff problems. He believes we must prevent overdevelopment of the Talavera subdivision. He would like to express the interests of his family and his neighbors. He is a local businessman and LTC in the Army National Guard
- **4. Gary Gomes**, 5085 Copper Bar Rd. He is capable and affected by the new ETZ zone. He has experience as a lawyer and business executive, with planning and zoning experience. He believes the committee should focus heavily on the people living in the new area.
- **5. Bill James**, 5060 Ladera Canyon Road. Bill wants to maintain our current life style to ensure traffic is not more congested. He is a retired Intel manager so he has lots of time to devote to this. He feels his ignorance of local laws gives him a clear perspective.
- **6. Deborah Kinkel**, 5195 Ladera Canyon Rd. Deborah has witnessed the growth of this area from under 30 homes in 1990 to several hundred now. She would like to play a role in preserving the balance between this developing community and the natural beauty and peace still accessible

here. She has spent 2 years on the planning and Zoning Authority in Boone County, IL.

- **7. Joyce Leverett**, 5140 Ladera Canyon. Joyce has lived in the area since 1994. Although she is has a house out of town she spends most of the year here. She was instrumental in getting the Dripping Springs Road bridge project built.
- **8. Peter Ossorio**, 5525 Lost Padre Mine Rd. As a property owner currently building an adobe house on the very edge of the present ETZ boundary without access to water other than from his well, he is very concerned about zoning changes that impact water supplies and proper disposal of waste. He is a retired attorney familiar with the process of reviewing and interpreting statues and ordinances. He is committed to democratic participation and due process in formulating public policy.
- **9. David Rocks**, 4861 Broken Stone Rd. David has lived here since 1995. He would like to preserve the quality of life in this area and to recognize the lack of water resources. His last position before retirement was Director of Computing at NMSU, so he has experience with committees. His area is protected by covenants. He understands there will be growth. He wants to preserve low density and our style of life and not create another Sonoma Ranch.

Information about the ETZ Steering Committee will be posted on the TCA website: www.talaveraca.org.

To contact Steve Meadows call 525-6121 or email stevem@donaanacounty.org

For more information on the ETZ Ordinance go to: www.donaanacounty.org, click on "Community Services", click on "Community Development, click on Zoning Ordinances, the first one is "ETZ Ordinance".

VII Other Issues

Your Comments and Inputs Are Always Appreciated, Larry Cottingham. Your feedback is appreciated to help make future issues useful to you and inclusive of the latest community events. If you have suggestions on how to improve newsletter format or content, or you would like to suggest community news items to be included in the next issue (new issues expected every three months, in line with our TCA meeting schedule), please send them to larry@larryc.com. Any corrections are also appreciated.

• TCA Officers and Committee Chairpersons

President: Larry Cottingham

Tel: 521-0409

Email: larry@larryc.com

Vice President and Chairman of the Parks

Committee: John Smith

Email: american1776@msn.com

Secretary: Janet Honek

Email: Janet@snapforward.com

Treasurer: Tom Smith

Tel: 521-4431

Email: Tom@fastwave.biz

Member-at-Large: Helen Foster

Tel: 522-1206

Email: HMF@zianet.com

Member-at-Large:

Steve Fischman

Email: stephen.fischmann@gmail.com

Road Committee Chair:

Kent Foster **Tel:** 522-1206

Email: kentfoster@zianet.com

Membership Committee Chair:

Helen Foster **Tel:** 522-1206

Email: HMF@zianet.com

Flood Map Committee Chair:

Mike Park

Email: mdpark@hughes.net